Partners for Safe Teen Driving (PSTD)
Para ver esta página en español, haga clic en el botón azul español en español que se encuentra arriba.
Attention 10th grade students and parents: The state of Virginia requires all 10th grade students and their parent/guardian to attend a 90-minute traffic safety program as part of the classroom driver education instruction. This requirement began in the 2010-2011 school year and must be met before a student will receive a Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DEC-1 card).
Partners for Safe Teen Driving (PSTD) Dates for Hayfield 2021-2022
This is a requirement for current FCPS 10th and 11th grade students. Most 11th grade students went to this last year and do not need to go again. 11th grade students that did not attend last year need to sign up in advance to attend. The fee for any student beyond 10th grade is $30. See Mr.Vought or Coach Perilliat for sign up instructions. All programs will be starting at 6:30pm (but double check within Schoology). All sessions will be virtual and held in the “HAYFIELD ALL” course located in Schoology. You will have to search in under the Zoom section for the session. The name of the session will be posted in Schoology along with a registration link. If you are unable to attend any of the times listed for the 21-22 school year additional program dates will be offered during the summer through Adult Community Education (ACE). You are strongly encouraged to mark your calendar now and plan to attend. You may attend any session -- preferably before or during the quarter your child has their classroom driver education instruction. If you have any questions, please contact Hall Vought at 703-924-2168. Please be aware of the following procedures that have been established to fulfill the requirements of the new law:
- Student must attend with their parent/guardian.
- Attendance for FULL 90 minutes is required.
- Proper completion of the registration form required (received at the session).
- Program must be completed during the year student is enrolled in Grade 10 HPE.
- No fees are charged to FCPS students currently enrolled in Grade 10 HPE.
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Learner’s Permit
Hayfield Secondary School is approved as an official Virginia DMV learner's permit testing site. Students have an option to register and complete the test at Hayfield during the dates listed in the link above. There is a $20 fee for registration through Adult Community Education (link above). Students are required to bring their school issued laptop, picture ID (student ID, state issued ID, or military ID), and the parent consent form found at the link above. An email with instructions, a parent letter and the blank consent form will be forwarded to registrants 24 hours before the test. For questions about the learner's permit process at Hayfield please contact CaSandra Davis Perrilliat.
Replacement Charges for Reissued Drivers Education Pink Cards
Effective December 7th, 2013 there will be a $10.00 replacement charge for all reissued drivers education green cards.
Each child receives a driver’s education green card at the completion of the classroom drivers education course with a passing grade and the PSTD 90 minute course. Students take the driver’s education classroom course through 10th grade Health and Physical Education Class and the Parent and Safe Teen Driver Course is offered at Hayfield throughout the year. Students will not be issued a driver’s education green card if both of these items are not completed and if the passing grade in the classroom portion is not achieved.
The $10.00 replacement fee can be paid to the high school finance office and the card will be available for pick up in the main office 48 hours from that date.